Thumbnail Image Text
1 of 1

From The colour circle series, part 1.

The colour circle series consists of nine colour circles, each made up of 24 equidistant hues.
The circles are subdivided into three categories: part 1, part 2, and part 3, each consisting of three works.

In The double constant colour circle, each hue from The constant colour circle – based on the three primary colours: red, blue and yellow, which are mixed to create a total of 21 interstitial colours – is partially tinted with pigment from its complementary colour, as if the circle had been rotated 180 degrees and overlaid on itself. The mixture proportion between the two colours reflects Eliasson's choice, and may differ from one hue to the next. The result is a sequence of earthy browns.